in , ,

Tanzania: Key Facts

Tanzania is a country located in East Africa, bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north, Rwanda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west, and Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique to the south. Its eastern border is the Indian Ocean.

Here are some key facts about Tanzania:

  • Languages: The official languages are Swahili and English. Other commonly spoken languages include Arabic, Hindi, and several indigenous languages.

  • Religion: The majority of Tanzanians are Christians (around 60%), followed by Muslims (around 35%). Traditional African religions are also practiced in some areas.
Image by Allexxandar on Freepik
  • Economy: It is one of the fastest-growing economies in Africa, with agriculture, tourism, and mining being the major contributors to its GDP.

  • Wildlife: Tanzania is home to some of the most famous national parks and game reserves in Africa, including the Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, and Selous Game Reserve. It is also famous for its annual wildebeest migration, which is one of the most spectacular natural events in the world.

  • Culture: Tanzania has a rich and diverse cultural heritage, with over 120 different ethnic groups. The Maasai people, known for their distinctive dress and customs, are one of the most well-known ethnic groups.

  • Politics: Tanzania is a presidential democratic republic, with the President serving as both the head of state and government. The current president of Tanzania is Samia Suluhu Hassan, who took office in March 2021 following the death of former President John Magufuli.

These are just a few key facts about Tanzania, and there is much more to learn about this fascinating country.

Also read: The Swahili Language


What do you think?

Written by Swahilify

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.


The Swahili Language.